Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Beer vs. Wine Party  (Read 8424 times)

chargerssb

Beer vs. Wine Party
« on: March 01, 2011, 09:46:02 pm »
Hi everyone,

I am going to be throwing a beer vs. wine party in May for my 30th b-day (know a lot of wine snobs and want to show them how beer too can pair with food just as well as wine).  So far the idea is having a Thai food themed menu, appetizer, first course, entrée, and a dessert.  The appetizer is still up in the air. For the first course we are having Tom Ka Gai Soup.  The entrée is going to be chicken panang curry with rice.  The dessert is going to cheesecake with a mango puree sauce.  

I am in the process of doing research on beers to pair with each course and wanted to get some tips as to what might work.  I am new to homebrewing and have really been into craft beers the last couple of years.  What styles and or specific beers might go best with each course.  I really want to get these pairings right to maybe convert some of these "wine snobs"; or at least plant the seed that beer is not just that yellow fizzy stuff.  Thanks everyone.  Cheers.

Offline weazletoe

• Brewmaster General
  • Howland, Ohio
Re: Beer vs. Wine Party
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 10:11:03 pm »
I have nothing to add except that I like your ideas. I find them fresh, and exciting. I would like to subscribe to your newsletter.

Great idea dude!
A man works hard all week, so he doesn't have to wear pants all weekend.

Offline MrNate

• Brewmaster
  • Bridgewater, NJ
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2011, 10:59:19 pm »
In general I feel that Belgians work well for converting wine snobs. They see it has a cork and they're all like, ooh, that's fancy! And then I'm all like, well get ready to have your mind blown, cuz this is beer!

Then I bang out Stairway on air guitar, with the volume on the air amps cranked to 11.