Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Greetings from a n00b brewer  (Read 3364 times)

Offline whitey

• Cellarman
Greetings from a n00b brewer
« on: September 30, 2010, 09:01:32 am »
Hi everyone. I'm very new to brewing. I've made about 7 batches of "Brewer's Best" kits. I figured I'd make these for a while whilst I get a feel and hopefully an understanding of the process before I jump into the more technical stuff.

I do have a few questions though.

One of my favourite styles that Brewer's Best makes is their Belgian Tripel. The first time it seemed to work out well. I made it again recently and for some reason, the APV isn't anywhere near where it's supposed to be. It's also a heck of a lot darker than the last time too.

So my questions for now hinge on OG and FG, the hydrometer and the addition of water to the wort.

The recipe calls for wort to be made out of 2.5 gal of water. I have an entry level 5 gal brewpot that I use. I have also added a ball lock faucet and mash filter to the pot, because I read this was a good way to filter out the hops and what notwhen it comes time to pour off the wort.

First Question
Once this is done, I end up with about 2gal of wort in the primary, is this normal?

The recipe then tells me to add water to the wart until I get to about 5 gals but to make sure the OG rests in the tolerances of the recipe.

Second Question
The only way I know how to do this is to drop a sanitized hydrometer into the wart and keep adding water till I get to the OG range, is this accurate? I also have trouble with foam that has built up on the wort from pouring it out of the brewpot into the primary.

So, if anyone has the time to critique my process, I'd appreciate it, and depending on the answers I may have some follow up questions.

Thanks
Kegged:
Oatmeal Stout
Doppelbock
ESB
Vienna Lager
Belgian Wheat
Heffeweizen

Bottled:

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands