Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Total newbie here. Trying to make a lager...  (Read 1709 times)

Offline el_leo

• 1st Kit
Total newbie here. Trying to make a lager...
« on: November 05, 2022, 10:49:50 pm »
What should I focus on if I'm trying to make a refreshing, crisp lager with ~4.5% ABV, 10-15 IBUs and 1.032 - 1.036 OG. I'm using W34/70.

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Total newbie here. Trying to make a lager...
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2022, 05:32:25 am »
Sanitation. Water. Fermentation temp. Mash pH (if all grain). Yeast health and pitch rate. Quality ingredients. Have fun.

If you allow microorganisms into your wort they will thank you for such a great environment and reward you by (possibly) ruining your beer.  I recommend cleaning all equipment and especially focusing on sanitizing the cold side equipment well. If you like to clean and sanitize, you might be a brewer.

If you don’t use ‘good’ brewing water your beer will suffer. I recommend RO or distilled and use 1 tsp CaCl or gypsum or a combination of the two in an average 5 gal batch to get at least 50 ppm calcium . If you choose to use tap or well water you might need to take additional steps to get ‘good’ brewing water.

Maintaining a steady fermentation temp can help improve your beer. I recommend 55° +/- 3°F for W34/70. Others may recommend higher or lower temps. Regardless of the fermentation temp you choose, control that temp from spikes.

If you are mashing grain to convert starch to sugar, mash pH is considered foundational. Good things happen when mash pH is controlled. 5.3 +/- .1 pH is considered the sweet spot.

The fermentation temp, volume and SG of the wort can all play a factor in pitch rate. I believe it is a rare occasion that one 11 g package of dry yeast is adequate. For a 5 gal batch of 1.036 wort fermented at 55°F, I recommend 21 +/-1 grams of W34/70.