Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to the show  (Read 2699 times)

Offline Chasin_Taco_Trucks

• 1st Kit
New to the show
« on: April 13, 2022, 05:42:03 pm »
What’s up everyone! I’m new to brewing and looking to learn how to get better. I’ve brewed two 1 gallon batches so far that turned out pretty good (to me anyway). Just got my kegerator and fermentation chamber set up so I’m going to move up to 3 gallons. I’ve only done extract brews so far. I’m still a little confused on recipe building and all that. Not sure if I’m ready to do anything like all grain brewing yet. Does anyone have any tips or tricks they have learned along the way that they wish they had known when they started out?

Offline Skeeter686

• Assistant Brewer
Re: New to the show
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2022, 06:43:42 pm »
Welcome!  I'm pretty new to brewing, myself. :-)

I started out with extract but it didn't take me long to try out BIAB (brew in a bag), which is a pretty easy way to get started with all-grain.  I've had some great results with BIAB so far.  I'm starting to see some limits to it, but it depends on how advanced you want to get.

There's a ton of great posts here and I've been learning a lot, myself.

Sent from my SM-T870 using Tapatalk

Offline Drewch

• Brewmaster
  • Just this guy, you know?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2022, 09:22:29 pm »
I'm only 2 ½ years ahead of you but here's what I've learned so far.

1a. Don't assume that all-grain is automatically better than extract.  Water chemistry, hops, yeast, fermentation time & temp, adjuncts, fruit ... all contribute to the recipe.
1b. Also don't assume that jumping to all grain has to be hard or expensive. You can switch to all grain BIAB with your existing hardware + a grain bag.
1c. Don't assume that switching to all grain is a one-way street. The shorter brew day of extract fits my life better right now; so that's what I'm doing right now.