Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Terms in Brewing  (Read 1866 times)

Offline redrocker652002

• Brewmaster
Terms in Brewing
« on: December 09, 2021, 02:11:51 pm »
Being new and trying to take in as much as I can, I am noticing that there are quite a few terms here I don't quite understand.  I will use the search function as needed, but as a newbie, I figure I would just put it out there.  Eventually, my hope is to get into a all grain brewing situation, with maybe a little home spot where friends and family can come hang out and pick from a few on tap.  But that is so far away right now, I understand I have a lot to learn.  Anyway, I am enjoying a brew for lunch and was just cruising thru the recipes on the AHA web site.  Cheers to all, and thanks to all who have helped me so far in my journey. 

So, here is something I have been wondering.  I am mostly an IPA guy, but have been thinking of branching out.  I see so many different styles and recipes, I am curious what everyone's opinion is for where I should go next as a primarily IPA drinker? 

Offline HopDen

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Terms in Brewing
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2021, 02:37:02 pm »
My opinion is lager/pilsner because it, again my opinion, showcases a brewers level of knowledge and talent because there is no room for hiding faults. With that said, since you tend to like IPA's, I would try a pale ale ( Sierra Nevada) it is similar to an american IPA which I assume that's what you were referencing but in most cases has less hop overkill.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2021, 02:39:50 pm by HopDen »

Offline fredthecat

• Brewmaster General
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2021, 02:39:59 pm »