Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Still learning my yeast strain  (Read 3150 times)

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Still learning my yeast strain
« on: May 23, 2016, 07:37:08 am »
As you know, I've been brewing my lagers with Wyeast 2352 since the PC release last October. I thought I knew it well, but I guess I'm still learning. For several batches I fermented at 50 till 50% then 68. Had pretty good results. But last time I started at 48F. That was the batch that after 4 days still had 0% ADF, so I pitched 1056 that I had on hand. We are drinking those now and they are amazingly lager-like. I don't detect any ale esters. Hmmm.

This past brew day I pitched propagated 2352 cultures at high krausen as normal, and again at 48F. Today is day 3 and I'm just starting to get activity. The German Helles Exportbier has dropped from 1.056 to 1.050... I think I found the issue. 48F is too cold for that strain. I knew that Wyeast says 52-62F but how often are their suggestions dead on? Seems to be the problem this time though.

Next time I will start at 52F and see if my hunch is correct.

Its crazy sometimes how just when you think you know something, you still have more to learn

Offline beersk

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • In the night!
Re: Still learning my yeast strain
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2016, 07:53:30 am »
Interesting. I've been fermenting this yeast strain around 49-50F with no problems, but I may boost it to 51-52F or so on my next go-around.
I usually start my fermentations at 45-46F and let them rise to about 50F and the 2352 seems to be fine with doing that with about a 24 hour lag time.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2016, 07:55:19 am by beersk »
Jesse

Offline brewinhard

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2016, 10:00:39 am »