Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to homebrew, many mead questions! First batch finished fermenting!  (Read 6549 times)

Offline nuclear_brew

• 1st Kit
Hey guys,

I'm completely new to homebrewing. Decided to get into brewing mead. I have a few friends who do beer, and started talked with them, they pointed me here! I have done a bit of reading (mostly the mead tutorials and other related stuff on this site) and have some (very foggy) idea what to do. I still have a lot of questions though! Will try to keep this as short as possible but I have a feeling it will be a bit on the long side.

So far, I've decided to try a gallon batch (due to the fact a 1 gallon carboy is 4 bucks) to see if I like it, upgrade later. Picked up 2 1 gal carboys, syphon and tubing, stoppers, airlock, cleaner, and sanitizer.

1. After reading http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/how-to-brew/mead/making-mead/ I felt like it would be pretty straightforward. After speaking to my friend, I started the journey down the rabbit's hole. First thing I realized was keeping the fermenter at 70F or below in an apartment would be very difficult. How adversely will fermenting at say, 73-75F affect the mead? I've seen a few references online to people fermenting at around room temp, but many referring to cool fermentations.

2. SNA. I know (or think I know 8)) old school wisdom is that mead has to age a long time (1+ years), but SNA can be used to reduce this to a few months. Read about it here: http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/how-to-brew/mead/mead-making-tips/ but there is not a lot of information. I've read some thread where guys add the nutrients in several phases based on the gravity. Is there a typical schedule people use? Any information about this would be great because waiting a year for 1 gal of mead would be pretty disappointing, and I don't have the space/$ to brew in big enough batches to make the 1 year wait pay off.