Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: when is the fermenting finished?  (Read 13769 times)

Offline aj68roberts

• 1st Kit
when is the fermenting finished?
« on: July 09, 2014, 07:35:49 am »
Hello all.  I am brand new to home brewing. Just brewed my first batch on Saturday. (Not sure if it was a good idea to start with a Nugget Nectar IPA clone or not.) Anyhow, I just need to know when the fermentation process is finished. I started it on Saturday 7/5 and the bubbling in my airlock stopped yesterday.  The kit instructions say it can (fermentation) go for a couple of days up to two weeks. Is my beer still "fermenting" even though the bubbling has stopped? Will I lose my batch if I don't  bottle it now?  Im so confused...... wish I started with a less complex beer. .......Any help would be appreciated..... Thanks .... Aj

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: when is the fermenting finished?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 07:40:21 am »
You will want to pull a sample and measure it with your hydrometer. The beer is done once the reading is identical a day or two apart. What was the temperature where the beer was fermenting? If it was warm it may have finished, but you will want to take a reading to be sure. I normally leave my beers in primary for 3 weeks or so before I take readings. This is just the way I roll.

Brewing a clone for your first beer is a great idea. You can compare your beer to the real thing and see if you pulled it off. Not all clone recipes are accurate, but if you got it from a reputable source, it may be a dead ringer.

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 08:01:20 am »
+1
Yeast don't read calendars so there is never really a firm rule as to when a fermentation has completed, only gravity readings will confirm and as Steve mentioned, temperature, pitch rate and grain bill will determine how the yeast attenuates and ferments.