Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Cold steeping specialty grains  (Read 8516 times)

Offline DW

• Assistant Brewer
Cold steeping specialty grains
« on: December 05, 2013, 06:02:31 pm »
In Brewing Classic Styles Palmer says you can steep specialty grains overnight in cold water, especially if you have a lot of dark grains.  Has anyone done this?  If you steep them overnight can you skip heating up to 155 degrees and holding for 30 minutes on brew day?

Online hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
Re: Cold steeping specialty grains
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2013, 06:10:59 pm »
I have been doing this for many years. Add it all to the sparge on brew say. Or add the liquid to the boil.

There is a discussion in Brewing Better Beer about this technique.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2013, 06:18:25 pm »
+1.  Same thing I do.  Works well.
Jon H.

Offline DW

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2013, 07:14:33 pm »
I have been doing this for many years. Add it all to the sparge on brew say. Or add the liquid to the boil.

No need to heat the steeped grains that soaked overnight before putting in boil?

Online hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2013, 07:21:30 pm »

No need to heat the steeped grains that soaked overnight before putting in boil?
No need. Heating may give some flavors, but don't overdo it. You are avoiding extraction of harsh flavors by cold steeping.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2013, 08:08:54 pm »