Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fermenters (non-glass)  (Read 1964 times)

Offline MDixon

• Brewmaster General
Re: Fermenters (non-glass)
« Reply #45 on: May 01, 2024, 12:42:02 pm »
Ok, back under consideration. I'm easily persuaded at times. ;)
It's not a popularity contest, it's beer!

Offline ScallyWag

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #46 on: May 02, 2024, 10:37:29 am »
I have 3 plastic water carrier/dispensers (came with spigots) that are 2.8gal each, cost me about $3 each at Walmart, and two more "sun tea / iced tea" plastic dispensers, 3.0gal each, cost me $4 each at Kroger.  I've been using them for nearly 4 years, never a contamination.  Also, I no longer use air locks, I just leave the plastic screw-on lids just barely unscrewed enough to to permit off-gassing when the pressure pushes the lid up - same kind of thing that my Mr. Beer kit's LBK does when it's lid is screwed on all the way.  (The Mr. Beer kit was the gift from my daughter that got me started in this hobby; I still use that LBK occasionally too.)

So I have 6 FVs of 2.5 to 3.0 gallons that I put about 2 gallons of wort in, so that I can split a big batch of wort up among different yeasts.

I'm uber-cheap, but I love the beer that comes out, so win-win.

Offline Visor

• Brewmaster
« Reply #47 on: May 04, 2024, 11:09:51 am »