Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First Brew  (Read 2863 times)

Offline Oiscout

• Brewmaster
Re: First Brew
« Reply #30 on: January 03, 2021, 05:09:56 pm »
I learned a lot believe it or not from BEER and BBQ by larry from you tube on all grain brewing and then just kept getting better as I read and brewed more.

Also how to brew from palmer is indispensable

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: January 03, 2021, 06:08:37 pm by Oiscout »

Offline HopDen

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #31 on: January 03, 2021, 05:28:02 pm »
I started brewing all grain from day one except one extract brew in 1987. It was horrible tasting at best. When I decided to try my hand at brewing again (years later) I was convinced that all grain was the only way to start. I read relentlessly on the subject until I felt I had a better than basic understanding of what all grain brewing would be. So starting with 2 10 gallon coolers, a converted keggle, propane turkey fryer, carbon water filter, various items such as thermometers, hydrometer, strainers, hoses, ball valves etc etc etc.

When starting out, How to Brew (4e) chapter 1 is an good starting point for brewing.  It's stove top, it's extract, it's a good starting point.

With BIAB, earlier in this topic, there was a mention of the book Speed Brewing for those willing to brew small batches (2 gal into 1.75 gal kegs). 

Is there a similar (detailed) resource for those who want to brew 5 gallon all-grain batches on the first attempt?