Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pecan Porter extract to partial mash conversion  (Read 3757 times)

Offline jtsphilosopher

• 1st Kit
Pecan Porter extract to partial mash conversion
« on: January 18, 2012, 09:22:11 am »
Hey guys,

This is my first attempt at an extract to partial mash conversion.  I am attempting this based on Christ Colby's method in BYO http://www.byo.com/component/resource/article/511-countertop-partial-mashing.  Two particular questions/ difficulties I have are the following.  First, the recipe contains no target gravity.  So, I am at best guessing.  Second, should use Munich or 2-Row for the base in the mini-mash?  The conversion I a looking to is to have 1 1/2 lbs of base malt (munish or 2-row) added to the flavoring malts and 1/2 crushed roasted pecans and drop the Dark LME to 5lbs.  Thoughts?

Ingredients for 5 Gallon Batch:

Sugars
8 ½ lbs. Dark Malt Extract

Flavoring Malts
½ lb. Caramel 120 L malt
1 lb. Organic American 2-row malt
½ lb. Chocolate malt

Hops
½ oz. New Zealand Pacific Gem hop pellets (bittering)
½ oz. New Zealand Hallertaur hop pellets (flavoring)
½ oz. Fuggle loose leaf hops (aroma)

Yeast
Nottingham Ale yeast or other basic ale yeast

Other Ingredients
3 cups crushed roasted pecans
1 tsp. Irish Moss

Directions for brewing:

First, allow your flavoring malts and one cup of roasted pecans to soak in 3 gallons of your heated spring water for 20 minutes. Do not boil these grains, as this can destroy some of the more subtle mashing processes.  Best not to exceed 180 degrees Fahrenheit.

Next, strain the flavoring malts or take out the grain bag, and add the rest of your water to the kettle, and bring the whole liquid to a boil.