Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Substitute for WLP820  (Read 398 times)

Offline CounterPressure

• Brewer
Substitute for WLP820
« on: June 10, 2024, 06:29:12 am »
WLP820 is out of stock and I wanted to place an order today.  Can someone suggest a suitable replacement for in a Marzen?  Dry yeast is fine also. I've got 34-70 about ready to harvest and more 34-70 mixed with S23 also getting ready to harvest/toss. I'm pretty sure I don't want either of those.  I've never used WLP-820 before so I don't know what it's character is, but I am guessing it has some.

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline CounterPressure

• Brewer
Re: Substitute for WLP820
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2024, 06:54:42 am »
https://beermaverick.com/yeast/wlp820-oktoberfest-marzen-lager-yeast-white-labs/
Thanks for the reply, but what am I not seeing?
I clicked on "Buy Now" and it took me to MB where it's out of stock.  The comparison tool might be cool if I didn't have to choose between 1000 other yeasts and know what they taste like to figure out which would be close... I'm not sure how to use that compare tool.

(edit), Got it! There's a substitution chart there also. Coo, thanks!
Recommends S23 as one of em... Hmmm. I just tossed my last two of them in another beer trying to save it and wasted it. Lol. Story of my life.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2024, 06:57:53 am by CounterPressure »

Offline CounterPressure

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2024, 07:04:47 am »
Recommendations are: