Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Lalbrew Verdant IPA Yeast  (Read 28180 times)

Offline fredthecat

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Lalbrew Verdant IPA Yeast
« Reply #45 on: April 06, 2024, 05:12:33 pm »
i would estimate i lost about 10 maybe 15% of the total amount of wort/beer to the head coming out of the blowoff tube. interesting but kind of not cool.

started it at 59F, for just maybe 12 hours, moved it and assumed it would be in the mid 60s, it was at 72F and a ton of foam was coming out at highspeed.

pretty crazy, thoughts?

Offline saaz amore

• Cellarman
  • When your beer has a smell like a Pilsner Urquell
« Reply #46 on: April 06, 2024, 09:47:32 pm »
I've been using Verdant for a few years now, and nowadays I use it on maybe 2/3 of my batches. My impression is that I used to get quite a bit of kräusen when I pitched a full sachet for 18L or so (almost 5 gallons) of wort. Nowadays, I pitch maybe 1/2 to 2/3 that, and I haven't had a big kräusen in quite some time. Take that with a grain of salt, though. It could be something else, or a combination of things, but I generally brew the same APAs, porters and ambers without changing much in terms of recipe or method.

EDIT: woke up this morning to two inches of Verdant IPA kräusen, a 17L APA batch that I'd pitched 2/3 of a sachet into. Came home from work a little a while ago, and it had already dropped.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2024, 04:31:25 am by saaz amore »

Offline chinaski

• Brewmaster
« Reply #47 on: April 07, 2024, 08:37:15 am »
i would estimate i lost about 10 maybe 15% of the total amount of wort/beer to the head coming out of the blowoff tube. interesting but kind of not cool.

started it at 59F, for just maybe 12 hours, moved it and assumed it would be in the mid 60s, it was at 72F and a ton of foam was coming out at highspeed.

pretty crazy, thoughts?