Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Vevor equipment  (Read 1512 times)

Offline fredthecat

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Vevor equipment
« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2024, 11:00:58 am »
I have a 300 foot pipe inspection camera of theirs that I’ve used to inspect water wells. It was under $700 and is a pretty useful tool at a fraction of the cost of other options on the market.

that sounds incredibly cool, if i was a millionaire (or the 2023 equivalent of this phrase - uh 10s millionaire?) i would buy stuff like this just to enjoy playing with.

i wont say im an expert on all things steel/metal related, but the "made in china" thing is very interesting and ive refrained from chiming in since i think people have their viewpoints, however from what i do - once steel products get mixed in in storage/transit/sorting they can extremely easily have their origin lost or faked. i know a major company that is absolutely using steel components that are claimed to be made in usa/north america and they are definitely not. and yet their buildings arent falling down.

the chinese products do have to conform to the same standards if they are assigned certain grades. i personally have no safety/health concern problem with using made in china metals and metal products, and in fact i'd rather use an all steel drinking container made in china than a plastic one made in the US/canada for example.

the reason for their cost savings nowadays (i think they definitely got away with BS products from the 80s to maybe 2010s) is lower labour costs, scale/govt investment for massive companies, lower infrastructure/safety requirements, really strong logistics and existing sales networks.

Offline Richard

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2024, 03:35:41 pm »