Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Disappearing Yeast Character  (Read 1059 times)

Offline KilroyWasHere

• Cellarman
  • Lookin' for clues at the scene of the crime
Disappearing Yeast Character
« on: March 19, 2023, 02:25:47 pm »

I have a rather complicated question about fermentation and yeast character. I have been doing BIAB for about 7 years, before that extract for about 5 years. Currently I can make some great beers following the advice I find on this forum and from Podcasts like experimental brewing. As such I am diligent about sanitation and rarely if ever have I had to dump a batch because of infection. I love to do Belgians, but do a variety of other brews annually ranging from Stout/Porter/Dubbel/Belgian Dark Strong to summer time Wit/Hefe/Kolsch. A testament to sanitation is the consistency with which I can produce a nice clean Kolsch. All that said, the thing I struggle with is maintaining yeast character throughout fermentation. That probably sounds strange, but typically when I am looking for good yeast character, like from a Hefe or a Saison, I have it early in fermentation and by the time the beer is kegged it is gone. Trying to figure this issue out has led me to do some goofy things, like taste the starter wort that I decant before pitching. I also regularly taste the gravity samples. Those confirm the gradual but consistent fading of the yeast character. My temperature control is impeccable. My fermenter is a 7 gal Speidel fermenter, I modified the lid for a thermo well and a stainless cooling coil. The coil is fed by an ice and water bath with an aquarium pump controlled by some software that runs a bang-bang controller. The temp is held within a range of +/- .25F during fermentation. For a 5 gallon batch I typically am left with .5 to .7 gallons of trub which always smells fantastic when I dump it. Attenuation is good. I am either hitting my target FG, or over attenuating by a few points. I