Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Warm humid climate  (Read 3340 times)

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Warm humid climate
« Reply #15 on: August 05, 2018, 05:10:56 pm »
Not a problem

Offline richardk

• 1st Kit
« Reply #16 on: August 05, 2018, 08:43:54 pm »
Thanks for the input. What temperature do you keep the deep freezer at?

I'm still learning how to use it properly, but my three batches in it were as follows:
NOTES: The probe for temperature controller (TC) hangs in air in freezer.
Fermentation temps (FT) were monitored with a thermometer strip on the side of the fermentors.
Batches 1 and 2 used WLP001 yeast and batch 3 used WLP300.

1. TC set to 63 F, FT reached a max of 68 F.  OG for that batch was 1.067.  After two weeks, raised TC to 70 F for 4 days, then cold crashed to 33 F for one week before kegging.

2. TC set to 63 F, FT reached a max of 69 F.  OG for batch was 1.069.  After one week, raised TC to 70 F for 4 days, then cold crashed to 33 F for one week before kegging.

3. TC set to 60 F, FT reached a max of 70 F.  After one week, when FT dropped down to 63 F, raised TC to 70 for 4 days before kegging (wheat beer - no cold crash)

=============

A quick side note, to address commentary before it begins: I do not place the TC temperature probe into a thermowell in the fermentor, nor do I insulate and affix it to the side of the fermentor.  If the beer needs to ferment cooler, then I'll lower the ambient temp.
Flavor is absolute; taste is not.

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2018, 10:34:37 am »
TL:DR: all previous repliers are 100% correct in writing that fermentation temperature is paramount, but all folks this deep in the country's armpit that I've talked with use a fridge or freezer - folks about the Great Lakes and New England and the Rockies just don't get it.